All you need to know

About UPSC

The UPSC Exam

IAS as a Career

The IAS (Indian Administrative Service) is considered as one of the most prestigious job profile in the country. There are 24 services offered through the Civil Services Exam, such as IAS (Indian Administrative Service), IPS (Indian Police Service), IFS (Indian Foreign Service), IRS (Indian Revenue Service), among others.

What is the UPSC?

Union Public Service Commission is a body created under the Constitution of India, which conducts Civil Services Examination (CSE). This constitutional body is entrusted with selecting the topmost bureaucrats in India.

Eligibility for UPSC CSE

The educational qualification needed to appear in UPSC Civil Services Exam is a Graduation Degree in any subject from any University recognized by UGC.

Age Limit for UPSC CSE

The Minimum Age to appear in UPSC Civil Services Exam is 21 years as on 1st August of that year. Upper Age limit for General Category is 32 Years, for OBC it is 35 Years while for SC/ST it is 37 years. 

 It’s essential for aspirants to carefully check the official UPSC notification for the specific age criteria and relaxations applicable for the year they plan to appear for the examination.

UPSC Exam Pattern

The UPSC exam is divided into 3 stages – Prelims, Mains Examination & Personality Test (Interview).

UPSC Exam Scheme

Preliminary Examination

Compulsory Topic/Subjects No. of Questions Duration of the Test Maximum Marks
General Studies Geography, Polity, Economy, History, Environmental Ecology, General Science and Current Affairs 100 2 Hrs 200
CSAT* Comprehension, Logical Reasoning and General Mental Ability 80 2 Hrs 200

* This exam is of qualifying nature.

Mains Examination

Paper Title of the Paper Duration of the Test Maximum Marks
Paper I Essay Writing 3Hrs 250
Paper II General Studies–I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society) ​ 3Hrs 250
Paper III General Studies –II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations) 3Hrs 250
Paper IV General Studies –III (Technology, Economic Development, Bio- diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management) 3Hrs 250
Paper V General Studies –IV (Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude) ​ 3Hrs 250
Paper VI Optional Subject – Paper 1 3Hrs 250
Paper VII Optional Subject – Paper 2 3Hrs 250
Paper VIII English (Qualifying) 3Hrs 300
Paper IX Scheduled Language (Qualifying) 3Hrs 300

Personality Test

Personality Test275


Rank List of UPSC

The final rank list is prepared by adding the marks obtained in the Main Examination (1,750 marks) to the marks obtained in the Personality Test (275 marks), resulting in a total of 2,025 marks. The candidates are then ranked based on their total marks in descending order to determine their position in the final list.


Number of attempts permissible for a General Category candidate in UPSC Civil Services Exam is 6, for OBC candidates the number of attempts permitted is 9, SC/ST category will have unlimited attempts till they attain the upper age limit to appear for UPSC Civil Service Exam.

Important Dates for UPSC Exam

Notification and Form filling for Prelims Exam with UPSC - February/March

Date of Prelims Exam - May/June Declaration of Mains Results - January/February
Result of Prelims Exam - August/September Personality Test - March/April
Commencement of Mains Exam - October Final Result - May/June

List of Services - UPSC Posts

The 3 Types of Civil Services

The UPSC CSE Exam is considered as the most prestigious exam in India.

  1. Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
  2. India Police Service (IPS)
  3. Indian Forest Service (IFoS)
  1. Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
  2. Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS)
  3. Indian Civil Accounts Service (ICAS)
  4. Indian Corporate Law Service (ICLS)
  5. Indian Defence Accounts Service (IDAS)
  6. Indian Defence Estates Service (IDES)
  7. Indian Information Service (IIS)
  8. Indian Ordnance Factories Service (IOFS)
  9. Indian Communication Finance Services (ICFS)
  10. Indian Postal Service (IPoS)
  11. Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS)
  12. Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS)
  13. Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS)
  14. Indian Revenue Service (IRS)
  15. Indian Trade Service (ITS)
  16. Railway Protection Force (RPF)
  1. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service
  4. Pondicherry Civil Service
  5. Pondicherry Police Service

Centres for UPSC Exam

Centres for Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination:

Agartala Gorakhpur Patna
Agra Gurugram Port Blair
AjmerGwaliorPrayagraj (Allahabad)
AhmedabadHyderabad Puducherry
AizawalImphal Pune
Anantpur (Andhra Pradesh) Itanagar Rajkot
Aurangabad JabalpurRanchi
Barelly JammuShillong
Bhopal JodhpurShimpla
Bilaspur Jorhat Siligudi
ChennaiKohima Thane
Cuttack Kozhikode (Calicut) Tiruchirapalli
Dehradun LehTirupati
DelhiLucknow Udaipur
DispurMadurai Vellore
GayaNagpur Warangal
Gautam Buddh Nagar Navi Mumbai
GhazibadPanaji (Goa)

Centres for Civil Services (Mains) Examination:

Aizawal Dispur (Guwahati) Prayagraj (Allahabad)
Bengaluru HyderabadRaipur
Cuttack Lucknow Thiruvananthapuram
Dehradun MumbaiVijayawada

Contact for Free Career Counselling