Colombo Security Conclave

Colombo Security Conclave


  • Colombo Security Conclave was formed in 2011 with India, Maldives, and Sri Lanka as its members
  • Later, Mauritius also joined the grouping with Bangladesh and Seychelles as Observers.


  • Maritime Safety and Security
  • Countering Terrorism and Radicalization.
  • Combating Organised Crime
  • Humanitarian Assistance / Disaster Relief
  • Cyber Security

Member Countries: India, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Mauritius

Observer Nations: Bangladesh, Seychelles

Colombo Security Conclave and India

  • India has a large coastline along with islands of strategic importance, this makes maritime security an utmost priority for the country.
  • Closer cooperation among regional partners will aid India’s efforts to ensure security and stability in the region.
  • The members of the grouping like the Maldives have increased their engagements with the QUAD which is again a key security grouping that India is a member of.
  • This will help India extend its influence in the region.
  • The conclave is mainly driven by India and is seen as India’s outreach to the Indian Ocean to underline regional cooperation and shared security objectives. 
  • Through CSC, India can restrict China’s growing dominance in the region and reduce the Chinese influence on the member countries.
  • The grouping is also in line with India’s vision of “SAGAR: Security and Growth for all in the Region”.
  • India has strong bilateral relations with each of the member and observer countries and the grouping will further assist in regional cohesion and collaboration. 

Related Links: Indian Ocean Naval Symposium