ECOWAS (Economic Countries of West African States)

ECOWAS (Economic Countries of West African States)

  • ECOWAS is a regional intergovernmental organisation established in 1975
  • Created through the Lagos treaty.
  • Headquarters – Abuja, Nigeria


  • Economic Integration among 15 western African countries
  • Free movement of goods, people and services
  • Addressing Security and Political Challenges
  • Enhancing Regional Cooperation among various sectors.
  • Setting up a Supra Nations Union

Member Countries

ECOWAS consists of 15 member states: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote dā€™ Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal, and Togo.


  • The establishment of a regional peacekeeping force known as the Economic Community of West African States Monitoring Group (ECOMOG), which played pivotal roles in resolving conflicts in Liberia and Sierra Leone during the 1990s and early 2000s.
  • Launching the ECOWAS Single Currency Initiative to create a common currency, fostering economic integration and trade.
  • Supporting efforts to combat terrorism, human trafficking, and organized crime through joint initiatives and collaboration.

Also, check out: MERCOSUR