Major Mountain Ranges in India

Major Mountain Ranges in India

Major Mountain Ranges in India

7 Major Mountain Ranges in India: There are Seven Mountain Ranges in India and all have peaks that are often higher than 1000 meters and Himalayan range is the tallest range in India and the seven mountains include the Himalayan mountains, Karokoram and Pir Panjal range, Purvanchal range or eastern mountain range, Vidhya and Satpura range, Aravali range, eastern ghat, and western ghat ranges.

The Himalaya Range

The Himalayan mountains are the ones that are geologically unstable regions and have lofty peaks, wide valleys, and also very swift rivers, Himalayan mountain range also exhibits young topography. The importance of the Himalayan mountains lies in the main source of water and forest wealth.

Karakoram and Pir Panjal Range

The Musta-gh, which extends for five hundred kilometres, is home to an oversized variety of the world’s tallest pinnacles. With the exception of the Polar Regions, the chain of mountains has the foremost glacial lots. This reach contains the world’s second and third-biggest icy lots, the Siachen ice mass, and also the Bia-Fo ice mass. This mountain chain is otherwise referred to as the Lower Range of Mountains. This reach is navigated by waterways just like the Ravi, Chenab, and Jhelum. Gulmarg could be a very important slope station.

Eastern Mountain Range or The Purvanchal Range

The range of mountains twists powerfully toward the south past the Di-hang gap and moves outward to the border covering the jap limit of the country.  The Purvanchal varies or the jap mountain chain includes 3 sections: The Pat-kai-Bum Hill, The Garo-Khasi-Jain-tia Hills, and Lushai Hill (Mizo Hill). Meghalaya is the wettest place on Earth on the lightweight of those slopes and it lies within the Khasi Hill.

This reach covers all of the jap provinces of Asian nations, that square measure unremarkably called the Seven Sisters. They reach out over a vicinity of around 98,000 sq. km in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, and jap Assam states. The Pat-kai and different connected mountain ranges (counting the Mish-mi, Naga, Manipur, Tripura, and Mizo slopes) that undergo this venue square measure alluded to aggregately as Purvanchal. The most noteworthy prime within the venue is Mount Dapha (in Arunachal Pradesh), with an increase of 4,578 meters.

Vindhya & Satpura Ranges

Vindhya ranges square measure non-structural mountains; they were formed undue to plate impact however rather as a result of the blaming of the Narmada valley to their south. The overall height of the Vindhya varies is 300 to 650 m. Most items of the Vindhya vary by square measure created out of equally had relations with matter rocks of maturity. It runs just about lined up with the Narmada natural depression in the east-west heading from Gob-at in Gujarat to Sasaram in the state for a distance of quite 1200 km.

Satpura varies could be a mix of Satpura, Mahadeo, and Mai-Kala slopes. Satpura slopes square measure structural mountains, formed around one.6 a protracted time back, due to collapsing and first inspire. These square measures are usually organized within the States of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. They run a distance of around 900km in the east-west heading south of the Vindhya within the middle between the Narmada and also the Tapi, usually lined up with these waterways.

Aravalli Ranges

India’s most seasoned mountain chain is considerably gathered in Rajasthan. The Aravalli ranges are square measure home to some birds and creatures and augment the extraordinary reasonably Rajasthan. In neighborhood language, Aravalli suggests that the ‘line of pinnacles’, and ranges a whole length of 800 km, covering the Indian territories of an urban center, Haryana, Rajasthan, and Gujarat.

Aravalli ranges square measure one in every of the foremost seasoned overlay tons of the planet and one in every of the foremost established structural mountains on the earth. They are adjusted in the northeast to southwest direction. They run around 800 km among the urban centers and Palanpur in Gujarat. Master Shikhar (1,722 m), the foremost elevated prime, is organized in Mt. Abu. They contain the most important marble stores in the Asian nations.

The Western Ghats 

The Western Ghats square measure a 1600m long mountain chain in a South Asian nation that stretches from Gujarat to Kanyakumari. the massive streams in this area incorporate the Godavari, Krishna, and Kaveri. This mountain chain is otherwise referred to as the “Sahyadri Mountains.” It incorporates the Nilgiris, Anai-malai, and Cardamom mountain ranges. The most noteworthy prime during this reach is the Anai-malai Hills in Kerala, which incorporates a rise of 2695 meters. Run Falls, Ooty, and Bandipur Park square measures documented individual objections.

The Eastern Ghats

The Eastern Ghats Mountain Ranges square measure reaches out from the province to Madras. Eastern ghats square measure primarily created out of Dharwar liquefied and transformative rocks. In distinction to the Western Ghats, these squares measure low-lying slopes.

They are an intermittent mountain chain, in distinction to the Western Ghats. They contain a progression of irregular slope ranges, for example, – Odisha slopes (Maliya slopes), Nalla-mala slopes, Pala-konda slopes, Veli-Konda slopes, Java-di slopes, and Sheva-roy slopes. Mahendra-Giri prime (1501m) is the most elevated mark of Odisha slopes. Java-di slopes and Sheva-Roy slopes square measure organized in Madras. Toward the south, the Eastern Ghats converge with the Western Ghats at the Nilgiris.

Between Odisha slopes and also the Godavari bowl, their square measure some clear slope ranges, as an example, the Madu-gula Konda varies. it’s a typical rise within the scope of 900-1100m it’s in all probability the foremost elevated pinnacles of the Eastern Ghats just like the Jin-Dha-Gada prime (1690m), Arma Konda (1680m), Gali Konda (1643m) and then on. They much missing between Madu-gula Konda vary and Nalla-mala slopes. This district is comprised of the Godavari-Krishna Delta. Nalla-mala slopes square measure organized in province. they’re comprised of Prote-ro-zoic matter rocks. Their typical height is within the scope of 600-850m.

Major Mountain Ranges in India

Related Links:

State Animals of IndiaEcology, Ecosystem and Environment
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in IndiaRamsar Convention and Ramsar Sites in India